The Latest News from Tenpins & More

November 15, 2018

FINALISTS READY FOR NEW MEXICO GAMES BOWLING TOURNEY.  Eighty-seven bowlers have advanced from a near-record 309 qualifying attempts and 128 semi-finalists in the bowling contest of the New Mexico Games.  They're playing at Tenpins & More in Rio Rancho this weekend for gold, silver and bronze medals as well as the right to represent New Mexico in the National State Games of America finals next summer in Lynchburg, Virginia.

Chris Lino shot 239, 213, 287, 215, 246 and 227 for an Open Men's win with 1,427, edging out Rick Benard 1,404 and Santa Fe's Gary Hadley 1,401 in the scratch division.

Robert Edwards had 1,506 including handicap for the Men's A win ahead of William Bivens' 1,489 and Gilbert Martinez 1,444.

Matt Ferdig, who graduated from high school bowling earlier this year, won Men's B with a stellar 1,484 from Ken Friedrich 1,437 and Chad Scarbrough 1,374.

Other adult and senior division winners included James Zamore, Kassi Romero, Jenn Bedard, Mel Huston (whose 190 in game three was a personal best score), Jim Coffman, George Hutton, Sally Kantz and Michelle Cameron.

Youth bowler winners were Deo Benard, 14, who bowled his tenth perfect game of 300 in another event at Silva Lanes last weekend, Reid Meuth, Robin Prioleau and Jaime Meuth.

* * *

Two weeks in to the new High School bowling season and Cleveland Storm and the Rio Rancho Rams have each won a title in the advanced division.  Storm won the opener over the Rams by 165 pins, with Manzano Monarchs third, fifteen pins back.  The Rams turned it around last Saturday beating Storm by 83 pins after averaging over 197 in the final seven games. The Monarchs were a distant third.

"This is a re-building year, as most of the highest average bowlers are now at college", said Tenpins' manager, Steve Mackie.

* * *

Calendar of events: (click here to go our calendar) 

Nov 17-18: New Mexico Games State at various times

Nov 21: Thanksgiving Eve Doubles Marathon at 5 pm

Nov 24: Cancer fund-raiser at 1 pm

Nov 25: Color Pin Cash at 9.30 am; Doubles & Singles at 10 am, 12 noon & 2 pm

* * * 

In Last Month's News...

October 18

Rio Rancho youth bowlers "hit their straps" on the lanes in Lubbock, Texas and at Tenpins & More last week.  Firstly, Yarelis Alvarez won the first event of a double-header weekend at South Plains Lanes, shooting 217 to beat all-time left-handed title winner, Harley Sweigart of San Diego by two pins, after striking on the tenth frame bonus ball against the 37-time winner.  It was Alvarez' first scratch division win in Junior Bowlers Tour NM/TX Conference play. Nathan Nguyen, of Rio Rancho finished third, after beating Blayne Hurst 217-190 but bowing out to Alvarez 200-227 in the semi-final.

The next day, Deo Benard rolled his eighth perfect game of 300 but the lead belonged to Aileen Linares, whose cousin, Yarelis, had won the day before.  Motivated to do likewise, Linares shot 255 to beat Artesia's Will Davis by 32 pins. They became the only relatives in the 23-year history of JBT action to claim scratch division titles, although there had been two girls win scratch on the same weekend six years ago.

The following day at Tenpins & More, Benard bowled his ninth 300 game during official high school practice for the upcoming season that kicks off November 3 at Rio Rancho.

* * *

Calendar of events: (click here to go our calendar) 

Oct 21: Youth/Adult Doubles at 9 am & 11 am

Oct 27: Rust Hospital Fund-Raiser at 2 pm

Oct 28: Halloween Family Fun Day at 12 noon; Intersections Company Party at 3 pm


Real Bowling Heros

Help us Celebrate "Real (Bowling) Heroes"

Nominate a regular Tenpins & More Bowler that you think is worthy of consideration as one of our REAL (BOWLING) HEROES)  It might be someone who has a disability, a serious medical condition, or someone who has or is overcoming set-backs in their lives and who continue to bowl and love the sport of bowling.  Once chosen, we'll present them with an award and add their name to the plaque at the Center's front counter as well as recognition on the website.  Click here now to fill out a form and send it in right away!

Cool Bowling Sites:

Dream Bowling Inc. © 2018